Abbotsford Juniors Football Club History

History of Abbotsford Juniors Football Club
Abbotsford Juniors Soccer Club held its inaugural meeting on the 26th October, 1965, with Mr Alan Moore the first Club President, Mr Dennis Craig as Club Secretary and Mr Ray Evans as Club Treasurer. The Ladies Auxiliary was established by Mrs Marg Welling, Mrs Babe Young and Mrs Marvis Verity. Initially, the Club competed in the Churches Association but in 1989 the club joined the Canterbury District Soccer Football Association where it remains today for competition football.
The club was incorporated in 2001 as "Abbotsford Junior Soccer Club" and changed the club name to “Abbotsford Juniors Football Club” in 2007. Over the years, the Club has continued its expansion adding Lysaght Park as an additional home ground, welcoming its first female players as part of the introduction by the Canterbury and District Soccer Football Association in 2011 and reaching over a thousand active members for the first time in 2016. 

Reaching a membership level in excess of 1,300 in 2020, the Club continues to go from strength to strength through its family and community friendly football culture linked to a strong focus on the development of its junior players and female football programs.

Abbotsford Juniors Timeline

1965 - Inaugural Club meeting

1966 - The very first Abbotsford Juniors game kicks off on Saturday 16 April 1966 at Campbell Park

Abbotsford Juniors Pictorial History

1993 - The Club joins the Canterbury and District Soccer Football Association ("CDSFA")

2001 - The Club incorporated as "Abbotsford Junior Soccer Club"

2007 - AJFC is born as the Club name is changed to "Abbotsford Juniors Football Club"

2011 - Abbotsford Juniors welcomes its first 3 female football teams at the start of female competition football within the Canterbury Association.
Abbotsford Juniors Football Club 2011 Photo Collection

2014 - Abbotsford Juniors surpasses 700 registered players for the first time in the Club's history as it welcomes it's first Under 15 Girls and Over 45 Mens teams along with a second Womens Over 30 team to its roster.
Abbotsford Juniors Football Club 50th Anniversary Celebrations

2015 - AJFC celebrates its 50th anniversary as Lysaght Park becomes the second home of AJFC competitive football alongside Campbell Park
Abbotsford Juniors Football Club 50th Anniversary Celebrations

- The Club reaches a watershed of over 1,000 registered players and the Under 14 Division 2 Girls team becomes the first AJFC Girls/Women's team to win a grand final!

2017 - Work commences on the upgrade of the Club's Campbell Park Club House and the Under 18 Division 1 team take out AJFC's maiden Football NSW Champion of Champions title
Abbotsford Juniors Under 18 NSW Champion of Champions Team

- The new Campbell Park Club House is officially opened and the Over 30 Women Division 1 team win AJFC's maiden CDSFA Women's Football premiership
Abbotsford Juniors New Campbell Park Clubhouse construction timeline

2020 - Lighting is installed at Lysaght Park allowing for mid-week training and the Over 30 Women Division 1 A team take their 3rd consecutive CDSFA Women's Football premiership
Abbotsford Juniors 30 Women Division 1 A team celebrates its 3rd back-to-back premiership

Abbotsford Juniors Football Club Sponsors and Partners

Canterbury and District Soccer Football Club Competition Fixtures, Results and Tables
Abbotsford Juniors Football Club - Coach and Manager Quick Links

CDSFA Official Wet Weather Field status information

Campbell Park and Lysaght Park Field Maps

City of Canada Bay Council Wet Weather Field Status

Abbotsford Juniors Members Codes of Conduct
AJFC Guidance about responding to a COVID case or suspected COVID case
Find us on Team App